Home Page banner.cb3cartoon.
Information Scroll.

Recent article: Profile of Robert Borden and Delegate Advisors

The Bell Tower has tolled through happy and sad times at UNC-Chapel Hill

CB3Media's owner wins 2015 national award for Column Writing

Barnes editorial wins national top honor

CapitalSportsNC.com wins national award

Take a look at Clifton Barnes' increasingly popular sports site.

Check out Barnes' analysis of UNC basketball.

Barnes wins national Web writing award

CB3media.com wins award for best new Web site; article also wins acclaim.

Heel Prints wins award for best Content & Writing; news article also honored.

Barnes receives 2011 national writing honors

Barnes wins two 2010 national writing awards

Barnes wins pair of 2009 national writing awards

2015 Apex Award.


Apex Award 2014.

Apex Award 2013.

Apex Award 2013.

Apex Award 2012.

Apex Awards 2011.

© 2016 CB3media Cary, NC

CB3media is the answer for good communications
With CB3media, you get a full array of award-winning communications services covering all forms of media. Let us be a part of your team. We're committed to good communications. Contact us to see how we can help.

Barnes wins national writing award
CB3Media's owner is NC's only winner in series writing

Clifton Barnes 2016 Award.

Clifton Barnes, the owner of CB3Media.com, has won a national award for writing.

A series of articles revolving around former University of North Carolina basketball coach Dean Smith won an Award of Excellence from the DC area-based Communications Concepts through its 2016 Awards for Publication Excellence competition.

John De Lellis of Communications Concepts says competition was intense as there were more than 1,600 entries with seven winners in the Writing Series category. Barnes was the only winner in the category from North Carolina or the South.

The columns, which appear on Barnes' sports website CapitalSportsNC.com, address Smith's life, death and funeral.

Judges appreciated the unique insight Barnes had from when he was a student journalist at UNC and his ability to lead readers through a range of emotions from tears to laughter.

In one column, Barnes told about how Smith was committed to the student body at UNC and how that extended to him as a writer for the student newspaper.

Barnes wrote, "Even though one would think I was a bother as a whipper-snapper budding journalist, Coach Smith took time to answer my questions when he wouldn't talk to anyone else. He allowed me into practice when he would allow no other journalists. He even let me travel with the team to various games, including the national championship game."

CapitalSportsNC.com has now won awards four years in a row. Articles from media outlets and sports teams in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area are featured on the website along with videos, tweets and original sports commentary.

The winning entries can be accessed by going to http://CapitalSportsNC.com and scrolling down to a section on the left titled "Dean Smith."

2016 Apex Award.The winning entries can be accessed by going to http://CapitalSportsNC.com and scrolling down to a section on the left titled "Dean Smith."

Barnes, who has won more than 70 journalism awards, served as director of communications for the N.C. Bar Association from 1987 to 2002 and, before that, was a newspaper writer and editor. He also worked part-time for McClatchy on numerous community newspaper websites for more than a decade through 2014.

Today he is a freelance writer, editor and Web developer who owns several websites including cb3media.com.

In 2016, he completed a book on the University of North Carolina's Order of the Bell Tower. Barnes is also credited with the idea for the Town of Cary's Hometown Spirit Award, given each year since 2009 to honor those who promote small town values.

Barnes, a native of Rocky Mount who has lived in Cary since 1996, is a UNC-Chapel Hill journalism and political science grad. Along with his wife Andrea, he raises their 10-year-old son Will Griffin.

Heel Prints.

Apex Award 2010.

Apex Award 2008.

Apex Award 2007.

Apex Award 2006.

Apex Award 2005.